Days 5, 6, and 7 – Hrmph!

I had no idea it was going to be this much of a challenge.

And I don’t just mean the actual 21 Minutes of attempting to quiet my mind (and the 21 Minutes of being okay with myself even though my mind isn’t being quiet!).

I’m also referring to the 21 Days part.

The commitment part.

The part where I show up, every single day and sit in inner silence.

Attempted silence, that is.

For starters, I was deathly ill these past two days (okay, not deathly, but too sick to sit at a computer and type an update – and apparently too sick to do 21 Minutes of meditating, because I didn’t do that either).

But then, I’m smart enough to know that there will always be an excuse if I let there be one: I was sick, the kids were sick, the car broke down, there was a snow-delay, I just had to go surfing…

What a reality check this is!

On Day Four I “break the rules” – although at least then I did some form of spiritual practice. Then Days 5 and 6 I flake out because I’m sick. But come on now – fine, if I couldn’t get up to write about my 21 Minutes, but I could have at last done them, right?

One would presume, one would presume.  Alas, I didn’t.

The good news is that despite my frustration, I’m not being hard on myself about this.  Instead, I am allowing myself to be in eternal Spring Training. (This, by the way, is a brilliant approach to life, this Eternal Spring Training idea. It’s amazing what we can learn when we genuinely allow ourselves to screw up…)

I’ve chalked Days 5 and 6 up to being one more of those glorious life-lesson that continually seem to fall at my feet, and today I picked up where I left off.   My 21 Minutes weren’t perfect – nowhere near – but I did it.

And I think, in the end, that’s all that really matters…

~ by Julianna on January 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
