Look within, thou art the Buddha – Day 10

Ehhh, I can’t say a whole lot about today.  I spent the better part of an hour sitting in silence, with my 1.5-year-old sleeping on me…and while it was a lovely experience, there wasn’t really any meditation involved.

For moments here and there I was able to focus on the beauty of his breathing – of his lungs taking in air, time and time again. But more than disappearing into that feeling of love, I found myself instead being grabbed by that timeless Mother’s Fear – that drowning sensation that comes with the thought, “how I would ever survive if I ever lost him.”

It amazes me that overnight, just by being born, these kids of mine raised the stakes of life higher than I ever could have imagined.  I once jumped out of an airplane; rode atop a chicken bus at impossible speeds around even more impossible curves in the middle of nowhere Guatemala; traveled into the Amazon, alone, with about 30 words of Portuguese to my name, and swam in rivers there where the daily catch included fish with fangs!

Now? Not a chance.

You could say it was just the brazenness of youth, and perhaps there’s something to that.  But far more than youth changing my brazenness, it was these two little munchkins. The value of their life is……unspeakable, really. And somehow that has translated into the value of all life, my own included.  (Plus, I’ll admit, that brazenness of youth has dimmed in me a fair bit on its own accord!)

Hmmmmm….I really didn’t mean to go down that path.  Not so uplifting.  But real, so I’ll keep it there.

Switching gears though……..

There’s a little something I want to share today – I read it the other day, and it called to me enough that I immediately wrote it down:

“The Kingdom of heaven is within.” – Christianity

“He who knows himself, knows the Lord.” – Islamic tradition

“Look within, thou art the Buddha.” – Buddhism

“God dwells within you as you.” – Siddha Yoga

Religions vary, but the underlying message couldn’t be clearer. The purpose of all religion is to help you remember yourself as true Love, and to know that the Almighty is not far away but within. Religion is a path to understanding that we are united with [Source].

From Relax, You’re Already Perfect by Bruce D. Schneider

I’ve heard it said lots of ways, and have tried to say it lots of ways myself.  But this, for some reason, struck me as very, very clear.  Or perhaps it just means that I myself have become very clear about it all?…

~ by Julianna on January 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “Look within, thou art the Buddha – Day 10”

  1. “The Kingdom of heaven is within.” – Christianity

    “He who knows himself, knows the Lord.” – Islamic tradition

    “Look within, thou art the Buddha.” – Buddhism

    “God dwells within you as you.” – Siddha Yoga

    Religions vary, but the underlying message couldn’t be clearer. The purpose of all religion is to help you remember yourself as true Love, and to know that the Almighty is not far away but within. Religion is a path to understanding that we are united with [Source].

    From Relax, You’re Already Perfect by Bruce D. Schneider

    As a theologian I am amazed by Schneiders comments.
    I have never heard any Christian writer, or speaker, say”the Kingdom of heaven is within” that would be blasphemy to a believer.

    There is no Islamic tradition , Sunni , Sufi, Wahabi, that would say ,”He who knows himself knows the Lord.” That atatement would earn a beating, if not beheading. The Koran states, “No man can no Allah, benign , merciful, man can know only the blessed Koran.”
    Buddha never said the above quote, but buddhism is so fragmented and sometimes contradictory somebody might have, but since there is no god in buddhism it would not fit in with the first 2 anyway.
    And as for #4 http://www.LeavingSiddhaYoga.net
    Please! check it out.
    I commend your search, I wish others had a seeking soul, but you were closer to the love of god holding your baby quietly for so long than you knew.
    Please check your sources, so many just want your money, they offer nothing.
    I hope I did not offend, I did not mean to, it is my field. I mechanic could not walk past a car making hideous noise without venturing a diagnosis.
    hug the baby! thanks for your time.

    Like

    • Thanks for your thoughtful comments…no offense taken – and yes, the baby gets more than his fair share of hugs!
      Above all, your note reminded me the danger of quoting without verifying the quotations. I will leave it to you and Dr. Schneider to debate the veracity (or lack thereof) of the words he considered to be direct quotes…

      For my part, I included the excerpt from his book because it spoke to me so strongly. I am of the belief that Source does not simply create the atoms and molecules (and non-particles) of existence, and then leave those particles…I believe it remains forever as those particles. It follows that Source is not something we call to assist us, but that it is us, or more aptly put, we are it.
      I’m aware that this may be an uncomfortable belief for others. On the other hand, I’ve found that it resonates strongly with an ever-increasing number of people. Onward we march, as humans, to find peace in our souls to share with our world…
      Be well, and thanks again for checking into this site!

      Like

  2. You are dead on! The source [I love that title] did not create and run. listen to the relationship expressed in the Christian understanding found in the New Testament book of Hebrews.
    The Son reflects God’s own glory, and everything about him represents God exactly. He sustains the universe by the mighty power of his command. After he died to cleanse us from the stain of sin, he sat down in the place of honor at the right hand of the majestic God of heaven
    In this Jesus is seen as continuing with creation, actually holding it together!
    The Greeks had a term for “the source”, they called it Logos. In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. English translators lacking the concept “source” or” Logos” called it, the Word.
    So the source is seen as creating, and then holding together.
    To think we are it, however confused the Creator with the Creation.
    I asked a guy once about the theology if A.A., he said” Well i learned something, there is a God, and I ain’t Him.” Rough perhaps, but accurate!
    I’ll be you make great tea! I’m off to have a cuppa, Oh, I miss the smell of baby head, lucky you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
