And the beat goes on – Day 12

Well, Day Twelve was no easier than Day One.

For some reason I was under the impression that by now I would feel some sort of progress…you know, see some return on my investment.

Alas, that does not seem to be the case.  I’m still hopeful, though, and here’s why:

In my writing and teaching about Creative Healing, I’m always struck at how often the idea of non-linear-ness comes to me.

For a few years I’ve led groups through a book called The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.  There’s a daily exercise in the book called the Morning Pages, where you write free-form 3 pages first thing every morning – no thought goes into it, just total stream of consciousness.

People often think that after writing the pages for a week or two their lives will instantaneously turn around. And they get frustrated when it doesn’t happen that way.

In my infinite wisdom, I know the folly in such thinking.

These changes you’re seeking, I say, are non-linear.

Yes, change will come, I say – but it won’t be immediate, and it likely won’t be what you’re expecting.

The important thing, I say, is the act itself.  It’s the commitment, the daily return to your internal self.

Ultimately, I say, it’s an act of faith. One must continue this practice without proof, without understanding, without cause and effect.

Oh, how easy it is to see outside of ourselves.

But I’ll take this reminder – this thing I can see so clearly for others – as a gift for myself today. I will continue my practice on faith alone, on knowing that this is a path toward a peace that I hold so dear.

And the beat goes on….

~ by Julianna on January 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
