Levitation is probably the closest analogy…Keith Richards, from “Life”

I can hear the whole band take off behind me every time I play [“Jumpin’ Jack Flash”] – there’s this extra sort of turbo overdrive. You jump on the riff and it plays you. Levitation is probably the closest analogy to what I feel – whether it’s “Jumpin’ Jack” or “Satisfaction” or “All Down the Line” – when I realize I’ve hit the right tempo and the band’s behind me. People say, “Why don’t you give it up?” I can’t retire until I croak. I don’t think they quite understand what I get out of this.

– Keith Richards in his autobiography Life (from RS 1116).

~ by Julianna on December 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
