Not the eternal … #quote 116

.

.

The Tao that can be told is not the eternal Tao.

.

.

.

– Lao Tsu (translated by Gia-Fu Feng and Jane English)

~ by Julianna on April 14, 2012.

3 Responses to “Not the eternal … #quote 116”

  1. Thanks for finding and liking my post, Julianna!

    I love a translation of the Tao Te Ching I read recently, that really gets it into modern speech and makes it make sense.

    “If you can talk about it, it ain’t Tao.
    If it has a name, it’s just another thing.

    Tao doesn’t have a name.
    Names are for ordinary things.

    Stop wanting stuff. It keeps you from seeing what’s real.
    When you want stuff, all you see are things.

    These two statements have the same meaning.
    Figure them out, and you’ve got it made.”

    Like

    • What a great translation! This post ‘landed’ in my awareness as I was meditating (if you call it that) and I once again saw that every time I reached to understand, hold, or otherwise ‘name’ the sacred space I was in, it would slip away. Kind of like looking at a faint star, head-on. That’s when I remembered the line I put into the post.

      Like

  2. its a wonderful blog, I’m delighted to discover this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
