How did the rose … #Quote 140

How

Did the rose

Ever open its heart

.

And give to this world

All its

Beauty?

.

It felt the encouragement of light

Against its

Being…

.

.

Hafiz (“It Felt Love”; From The Gift, Translation by Daniel Ladinsky)

~ by Julianna on September 19, 2012.

15 Responses to “How did the rose … #Quote 140”

  1. Reminds me of the poem “A Red, Red Rose”…

    O my Luve’s like a red, red rose
    That’s newly sprung in June;
    O my Luve’s like the melodie
    That’s sweetly play’d in tune.

    As fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
    So deep in luve am I:
    And I will luve thee still, my dear,
    Till a’ the seas gang dry:

    Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
    And the rocks melt wi’ the sun:
    I will luve thee still, my dear,
    While the sands o’ life shall run.

    And fare thee well, my only Luve
    And fare thee well, a while!
    And I will come again, my Luve,
    Tho’ it were ten thousand mile.

    … by Robert Burns from my home town Dumfries, Scotland.

    I like your rose image.

    Like

    • Wow – I haven’t thought of that song in ages. In High School we sang an acappella arrangement of it that was truly haunting and breathtaking, all at the same time. Thank you for that reminder, and for a lovely tune now running through my mind!

      Like

  2. Seeing beauty in every thing is a fine art.

    Like

  3. My body trembled a little when I first read the last line. Was that the encouragement of light?

    Like

  4. All people on Earth at this special time in this 2012 year are also feeling the Light streaming in. It is now up to each individual, a choice, whether they choose to open up to the Light and awaken to who they truly are.
    Love and Light
    Peter and Kay

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing a wonderful analogy between God and us Julianna. 🙂

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on bobbieslife and commented:
    Beautiful analogy between God and us.

    Like

    • Thank you for the reblog, Bobbie – I’m glad this post resonated so deeply with you! Whatever name we choose to use, the important thing is our connection with It. I’m glad you have discovred and are niyrishing yours!

      Like

  7. Beautiful insight and elegantly spoken. Thank you. And thank you for the likes on Shadows.

    Like

  8. Again, awsome to read, I’m inspired by your poetry, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
